Literally Running Errands

Back before miniKEG was in the picture, I ran a lot. But I never commute ran – well except one time when I ran to the store with a small backpack to get a few things and hated every minute of it. I never did it again. However, much like when I used to run with the dog to save time when I started my PhD program, with a kiddo in the picture my running windows can be few, especially when it always seems like I need something from the grocery store or Target.

Thankfully, I live in a place where it’s really flat (super rare in the Bay Area and something I curse on my long runs when I want some hills and mix up) and everything is about 2-3 miles away (if I take the long route). We have lots of sidewalks and paths for pushing a stroller. And that stroller is what makes running errands possible. That sweet ride for the little one serves as a pack mule for mama (I run with the Bumbleride Speed). I fill the little basket up and we head back home. I also like to believe this makes me a stronger runner as my resistance gets heavier along the way. Sometimes miniKEG naps during the process, sometimes she’s up (asking, as she points at EVERYTHING, “wa dat?” – what’s that?). I’m also lucky that she loves the run 99% of the time (she’s literally cried three times during all of our runs and for understandable reasons each time).

FullSizeRender

that stroller basket is full of target goodies, snacks for little miss, and a windbreaker for me

When I first imagined stroller running, I thought it would be hard but worth it. For a while I sorta hated it but I also loved running with the little even though it was hard and exhausting. But then I realized I could get in a run, possibly a nap for the kiddo, and some much needed groceries and that was a major win in my book. I know she’s still small but I also really believe that she’s learning somewhere that we can go places without the car. She loves being outside and it’s just another thing we can do together.

Now I know this isn’t new – I was inspired by my mom running friends to do this but it certainly has made my life a little easier. And I like the stroller in the store better than the carts anyway. 😜

Do you run commute? Do you run errands with a little stowaway?

3 thoughts on “Literally Running Errands

  1. J. Eppel says:

    A very wise mother with a plan that maximizes her time to do things that need to done and spending time with with the little one. Also getting fresh air and saving fossil fuels.

Leave a comment